The Jersey Shore Orthodox Rabbinate takes pride in once again presenting to our Sephardic Community a comprehensive guide to Passover products. In order to supply the community with up to date information, this is also available on the website. We have added some popular food categories for this year, including some commonly used health foods.
This list is compiled after extensive research and correspondence with food industry experts and experts in the field of Kashrut. Since Sephardic Jews have different customs and traditional foods than our Ashkenaz brothers, this list is designed to serve those whose custom includes the consumption of Kitniyot, or legumes on the holiday. Since the majority of Jews in America are of Ashkenazic descent, the major Kashrut organizations have only certified those items that are permissible for them. In the last several years, the Star K (Star-S), OU and the OK have begun to certify some foods that are for those who eat Kitniyot.
We have included those items, and as well have listed those foods that are permissible without special Kosher for Passover (KFP) symbols. This year we have expanded the listing with some gluten free and Paleo friendly ingredients, as these items have become increasingly popular.
Please note however, that gluten free is not necessarily Kosher for Passover! Oats are gluten free, but they are pure hamez! Use only items listed. (Also note that the Beracha on those items, although they may be in the form of typical Mezonot foods, the correct blessing is SHEHAKOL.)
You can download this flyer from here.
Please contact Rabbi Bassous if you have any further questions.